Cherry Blossom Bracelet

This is my second bracelet project from Mikki Ferrugiaro. Her patterns can be viewed and purchased here. (Hey! I figured out links!)

I changed the color scheme a bit.

It was supposed to have black leaves, and green where the gray is on mine. I thought that was a bit weird.

It wasn’t until I began working on it that I realized it was odd-count peyote stitch. While not difficult, it does add an extra step to every second row, and therefore takes a bit longer. It took me several days to complete this, but partly because I’m trying to be a better housewife, and made up a list of different things to accomplish every day before I can bead. Also, the  book I’m listening to while working is not good at all. So why am I listening to it? It’s the last in a series of otherwise pretty good books.

I also figured out how to do a different closure. Not those frustrating tubes again, but a beaded bead, which was so much easier.

It still is too big for my hand. A bit better, I actually have to push it over my hand, instead of just sliding it on, like the last one. At least it won’t accidentally fall off if I fling my hand too vigorously.

Do here is the finished project:

I may re-work part of it, that 4-petaled flower in the middle looks really weird to me.

Body Count:
Broken Needles: 1
Broken Beads: None
Stabbed fingers: 1
Cats yelled at for walking across my beads/strewing them across the floor: 1

 

About cathairinmybeads

I am a beader who has cats. I am a crazy cat lady who also beads. I enjoy beading, and know a fair bit about the subject. I have 6 cats, and I do realize that is about 2 too many. My cats agree, too, but there is never a lack of cat stories in my house! I am hoping to begin selling my wares at some point, so if you see something you like, please let me know!!
This entry was posted in Beading, Books, Cats. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

