One Resolution Down!

One of my New Year’s resolutions was to learn a new bead stitch. So I did. Although technically, it’s the same stitch, just done sideways. But the way to do it sideways is in no way similar to the way to do it the other way.

Ok. This is peyote stitch, which is what I normally do:

DelPeyote

And this is brick stitch, what I just learned:

DelBrick

See? They look the same. Only sideways. So why would I bother learning this stitch?Hmm, dunno. I just saw this and thought I would try it. And it’s different from peyote…Plus, it’s doing it with a twist, which I don’t know if you can do with peyote stitch.

My first four attempts had me undoing it each time. The first time, I tried with my small beads, but it wasn’t working, so then I tried with larger beads. Something still wasn’t working. I thought maybe it was because I’m left-handed, so I flipped the first image. Nah. So I searched Youtube and found this video. Ah, there you go. I just needed to figure out how to do the base row properly.

My first attempt turned out ok, but I don’t like the larger beads, so I did another in the smaller beads I’d originally started with. This is what I got:

photo

Don’t know what I’ll do with these two pieces. Maybe I’ll make another green one and make earrings. The other one, I dunno. I have to remember that transparent beads make the best stuff, unless you actually WANT your project to look like it was made of beads.

All in all, meh. I prefer peyote stitch. You just pick a bead up with your  needle, and go through another bead. Brick stitch, you pick up a bead, go under some thread, then back through the same bead, which is not all that simple to do, as the bead hasn’t been tightened down, and tends to escape your needle. Plus seeing the thread you need to go under is more difficult than seeing the hole of the bead you need to go through.

About cathairinmybeads

I am a beader who has cats. I am a crazy cat lady who also beads. I enjoy beading, and know a fair bit about the subject. I have 6 cats, and I do realize that is about 2 too many. My cats agree, too, but there is never a lack of cat stories in my house! I am hoping to begin selling my wares at some point, so if you see something you like, please let me know!!
This entry was posted in Beading and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

